The Sharpe-Walentas Studio Program is the new face of the Marie Walsh Sharpe Art Foundation Space Program, developed for artists, by artists in 1991.

In 2014 the program was renamed the Sharpe-Walentas Studio Program to honor the legacy of Marie Walsh Sharpe and reflect the new sponsorship and commitment of the Walentas Family Foundation.


Announcing the 2018 Sharpe-Walentas Studio Program Awardees

The Sharpe-Walentas Studio Program is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2018-2019 award of a year-long rent-free studio space in DUMBO, Brooklyn. Seventeen visual artists were selected from a record 1,600 applicants: James Biederman, Jennifer Coates, Julie Curtiss, Carrie Elston Tunick, Louis Fratino, Allison Gildersleeve, Alejandro Guzman, Heather Hart, Erick Alejandro Hernandez, Sacha Ingber, Kimo Nelson, Lee Relvas, Tracy Thomason, Lumin Wakoa, Derek Weisberg, Ana Wieder-Blank, and Sun You. The residency period will last from September 2018 through August 2019, with an open studios weekend to be scheduled for spring 2019.

Read more

The Sharpe-Walentas Studio Program awards rent-free private studio spaces to a jury-selected group of artists for one year.

Go top