The 2016 residents selected for the Sharpe Walentas Studio Program include a lot of representational painters this year. Olive Ayhens, Samantha Bittman, Matt Bollinger, Sascha Braunig, Jordan Casteel, Caroline Chandler, Duron Jackson, Meredith James, Fabienne Lasserre, Karen Lederer, Dana Lok, Nat Meade, Clifford Owens, Sheila Pepe, Ruth Root, Alan Weiner, and Tuguldur Yondonjamts. The process: Seventeen visual artists were selected from over 1,200 applicants by an initial review with five past studio artists: Diana Cooper, David Opdyke, Erika Ranee, Daniel Rich, and Randy Wray; the final selection jury included Tara Donovan, Keltie Ferris, Dread Scott, Joel Shapiro, and Alexi Worth.

Read more.

— Sharon Butler for Two Coats of Paint

Go top