Contributed by Sharon Butler / This year the 17 artists who get free studio space in DUMBO were selected by jurors Ellen AltfestPhong BuiDeborah KassPhilip Pearlstein, and Daniel Turner from (gasp) 1700 applicants. As usual, the residency period will last from September 2019 through August 2020, with an open studios weekend to be scheduled for spring 2020. The new group seems to be an eclectic bunch, and includes many accomplished artists including old timers Mira Schor, Glenn Goldberg, Tom McGlynn, and Don Voisine. Here’s the info for each artist (provided by Sharpe-Walentas), with painting images, and links to their work. To the 1683 artists who weren’t selected, enjoy your solitude and carry on. 

Read More

Go top